Prison, Pizza, and Love

Prison, Pizza, and Love

saintanything Saint Anything 

by Sarah Dessen

Peyton, Sydney’s charismatic older brother, has always been the star of the family, receiving the lion’s share of their parents’ attention and—lately—concern. When Peyton’s increasingly reckless behavior culminates in an accident, a drunk driving conviction, and a jail sentence, Sydney is cast adrift, searching for her place in the family and the world. When everyone else is so worried about Peyton, is she the only one concerned about the victim of the accident?
Enter the Chathams, a warm, chaotic family who run a pizza parlor, play bluegrass on weekends, and pitch in to care for their mother, who has multiple sclerosis. Here Sydney experiences unquestioning acceptance. And here she meets Mac, gentle, watchful, and protective, who makes Sydney feel seen, really seen, for the first time.

***
Format: Paperback ARC
***
 More and more I find myself venturing into the romance and contemporary genres, and more and more I find myself liking the books I picked (from those genres). I found Saint Anything to be a heartwarming and sweet and emotional tale that was rich with feeling.
The characters were exquisitely built and developed. They were very realistic and none of them were unnecessary and nearly all of them seemed like major characters because they were so detailed and well written that as a reader, I got to know them really well. I can’t even pick favorites because they were all so dear to me from the very start. Mac was definitely one of my favorite characters.
The plot was really well strung together. It wasn’t too predictable or complex and didn’t follow the typical dramatic ups and downs of traditional stories. I found myself so enamored with the rest of the story that I wasn’t thinking too hard about the plot. I moved along easily and smoothly, I had no problems with it.
The writing was exquisitely well done. Once again, I find that I have nothing bad to say about it really.
Last Words: This was the first Sarah Dessen book I’ve ever read, but if all her books are as good as this one was, I’d read them all. This book has made me an unashamed lover of romance. I highly recommend it and give it 5 out of 5 stars.
 new5star
Gif Consensus:
2 thoughts on “Prison, Pizza, and Love

  1. awwww I love Sarah Dessen every now and then. I used to not enjoy romance/contemporary at all, but the more I try it out, the more I appreciate it. Makes for good time reads. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

