Stacking The Shelves is Back!

Stacking The Shelves is Back!

stackingshelvesnew

In the survey you guys took a while back to tell me what changes should be made, you asked me to bring back Stacking the Shelves and a new feature of some kind. I’m still working out the new feature thing, but for now I can at least start back up with Stacking the Shelves.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with Stacking the Shelves, it is a weekly feature put on by Tynga’s Reviews. It allows bloggers to share what new books they’ve collected that particular week.

Here is my haul from Liberty Bay Books!

IMG_0409 (1)

I’m going to do this from bottom to top:

First up are Circus Mirandus and Everything Everything. These two were given to me by Suzanne herself and I have mixed feelings. I think Everything Everything will be one I love and hopefully a perfect blend of quirky and sweet. Circus Mirandus on the other hand, sounds less like my style, I am excited to try it nonetheless!

The rest of this pile are all books I dug up!

Slasher Girls and Monster Boys will be very different than my usual, I love horror type books, but I don’t read many anthologies or collections. It boasts some of my favorite authors so I am extremely excited to start it and see where it takes me!

Edgewater is intriguing. I am not entirely sure what I’m in for with this one but I can’t wait to find out and hope it thrills me to my bones.

I almost didn’t grab UntwineI still don’t know how I feel about it yet, so we’ll have to see what I think upon starting it. It sounds good, but just not really like my type. I have a feeling I may get bored, but I desperately want it to prove me wrong.

With Blood and Salt I am again tending toward the creepy. Goodreads calls it “Romeo and Juliet meets Children of the Corn in this one-of-a-kind romantic horror.” Now try and tell me that doesn’t at the very least sound interesting?

All The Major Constellations seems to be another slightly quirky one. The cover was stunning though, and the story sounded funny so I thought why not?

And last but not least, Julia Vanishes because who doesn’t love a good thief/spy?

IMG_0408

Suzanne also gave me The Scorpion Rules to try but I finished it and brought it back early on so it didn’t make it into the stack picture with the others. It was good, I had a few issues and was quite surprised at the premise. The synopsis didn’t prepare me for what was in store and the genre/style.

IMG_0410

Suzanne just handed me the Red Queen today so it too, missed getting in the “group” picture. I am thrilled to start it because I’ve heard lots about it and have been waiting to get my hands on it. One of the employees at Liberty Bay Books, Kate, mentioned she had some issues with flaws in logic, but other than that liked it. I have a feeling I will have a similar reaction.

So tell me folks, what books did you pick up this week?

4 thoughts on “Stacking The Shelves is Back!

    1. Thanks! The Scorpion Rules was pretty good and my full review of it will probably not come until July/August because of its publishing date. I am halfway through Red Queen right now and am less than impressed to say the least, but there is still time for it to make a comeback.

      Like

Leave a Reply

