Love Hurts, Accidents Happen, and Dolls are Creepy

Love Hurts, Accidents Happen, and Dolls are Creepy

 accident season cover The Accident Season

by Moira Fowley-Doyle

It’s the accident season, the same time every year. Bones break, skin tears, bruises bloom.

The accident season has been part of seventeen-year-old Cara’s life for as long as she can remember. Towards the end of October, foreshadowed by the deaths of many relatives before them, Cara’s family becomes inexplicably accident-prone. They banish knives to locked drawers, cover sharp table edges with padding, switch off electrical items – but injuries follow wherever they go, and the accident season becomes an ever-growing obsession and fear.

But why are they so cursed? And how can they break free?

I still can’t quite figure out how I feel about this book. It is unique for sure and sent shivers up my spine, but for some inexplicable reason, I didn’t quite connect with it as deeply as one would hope.

The storyline was truly one of a kind, I haven’t even heard of any other book like this. It is a wonderfully fantastical concept, and I’d love to know what inspired it. This book turned out to have so many more dimensions to it than I thought it would after reading the synopsis. It was so eerie. I had no idea it was going to go so far in that direction, but I was very happy it took that turn for the better.

The creep factor was very well done. The Accident Season was full of magic and mystery and intrigue, all of my favorite things. The entire book was spine tingling and filled with beautiful yet haunting scenes that had me checking over my shoulder everywhere I went.

The characters were kind of impossible not to love as a group. They were all really well written for each other and their closeness was really sweet and refreshing to read about. You have the sisters Cara and Alice and their “ex-step brother” Sam, and then their best friend Bea. I loved how this book and this set of characters really showed some amazing messages about family not always being by blood.

The romance was sweet, but not really a favorite of mine. It was done realistically and was well founded and such, but there were moments of it that kind of annoyed me for some reason. Maybe because of the predictability and all the moments where you figure something out before the characters do and are left sitting there rolling your eyes. There wasn’t enough of these incidents to ruin the book for me or anything, but the romance plot held quite a few of them, enough to get on my nerves and keep me from totally and completely loving it.

Unfortunately, the plot occasionally fell pray to the same predictability problems. Thankfully, it was never in too big of a way. It never ruined any big moments, so I guess I’ll have to forgive and forget.

The writing was sweepingly beautiful, and did a great job of weaving together deep emotions and messages with fin, magic, and mystery. Like the book, the writing was both stunning and one of a kind. It was full of absolutely amazing imagery and passion that tugs at your heartstrings.

Last Words: This book is brimming with magic, mystery, and thrill. It is a truly fantastical tale written with deeply impassioned writing that will whisk you away into a unique and eldritch world, that unfortunately I still don’t completely understand. Maybe that is why I didn’t quite connect with it as solidly as I would have liked to, there were still a few holes for me and I prefer a complete pictured. Other than that and the predictability I found this book to be absolutely stunning and a veritable powerhouse. I’d definitely recommend it because it is so one of a kind and pretty much indescribable, it is definitely one have to read for yourself, and with an open mind. I gave it a solid four out of five stars.

Fade5star

Goodreads and Liberty Bay Books.

Gif. Consensus:

 rathergood

2 thoughts on “Love Hurts, Accidents Happen, and Dolls are Creepy

  1. Oh no! I’m sorry to hear you didn’t love this one as much as they hype would have you hope! But I’m very, very glad to hear you still liked it aside from the predictability. I honestly don’t think I’ll mind a slightly predictable plot if the creepy atmosphere and the writing really are as good as you say – and as everyone else says. I can’t wait to give this book a try, and I hope the plot and romance work out better for me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I LOVED parts of it but then I was also really annoyed by other parts. I think that would have been less of a problem if I’d been able to connect with it more. I hope it works out even better for you! 🙂 Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

